Everything is Beta

Icon

Where Technology Meets Medical Librarianship

MLA Web 2.0 101

In an effort to explore web 2.0 I signed up for the MLA course. Even though I feel I’ve exhausted all avenues of web 2.0 I wanted to confirm this. So far I’ve built a blog, set up an rss reader and am creating a wiki. Have I already done all of these things? Yes, but the input from the other participants who have never done these things is very valuable. Since I’ve already created blogs and wikis and readers, oh my. I’ve forgotten all the little stumbling blocks that pop up along the way. If you’re not able to take a course like this to remember the rough spots maybe you could ask your colleagues to contribute to your blog or wiki or create one of there own and report back to you with any problems they may have. We tend to get so caught up in the technology and submerse ourself in it every day that we forget it’s not that easy. Since I am the emerging technologies coordinator for my department I am using this course to help me create a how to guide. By reading all the comments and seeing how the instructors are setting up the course I am hope to create my own manual.

This is an 8 week course and we’ve already covered what I’ve been working with. I am very excited to see what weeks 4-8 hold. I bet there will be something new, exciting, confusing and exhausting in those weeks.

Filed under: instruction, MLA, web 2.0

Leave a Reply

